Mamata Banerjee to take oath as Bengal CM for third time on May 5

    Mamata Banerjee to take oath as Bengal CM for third time on May 5

    Mamata Banerjee Take Oath Third Time: A day after winning a bitterly-fought battle with the BJP to record her third successive victory in the West Bengal Assembly elections, Trinamool Congress Chief Mamata Banerjee on Monday called on state Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar at the Raj Bhavan and staked claim to form government in the state. Following which, Governor Dhankwar wished her “a fruitful third term in office to serve the people of the state with dedication and commitment so that state regains past glory”.

    He further added that Banerjee will be taking the oath of office on May 5 at 10.45 am at Raj Bhawan.

    “CM @MamataOfficial called on me and submitted her resignation as CM and the same has been accepted. She has been requested to continue till alternative arrangements are made,” Dhankhar tweeted.

    The MLAs of the TMC unanimously elected Banerjee as the legislative party leader at a meeting here, its secretary-general Partha Chatterjee said.

    “Taking note of communication @AITCofficial electing @MamataOfficial as leader of 17th WB Legislative Assembly have invited her to take oath of office of Chief Minister on May 5 at 10.45 am at Raj Bhawan,” Dhankhar said in another tweet.

    The TMC legislators also elected Biman Banerjee, the speaker in the outgoing House, as the pro-tem speaker in the new Assembly.

    “The newly-elected members will take oath in the Assembly from May 6,” Chatterjee told reporters at the party headquarters here after the meeting of the legislators.